PhoneHK 討論區 
» 遊客:  註冊 | 登錄 | 搜索 | 幫助

RSS 訂閱當前論壇  


上一主題 下一主題
 36  1/2  1  2  > 
     
標題: BlackBerry without bb plan [Case Sharing]  
 
chuday
新會員
Rank: 1



UID 338343
精華 0
積分 5
帖子 5
閱讀權限 10
註冊 2009-2-27
狀態 離線
BlackBerry without bb plan [Case Sharing]

[Close]
First of all, apology for my bad chinese/cantonese hence this post will be mostly English but I can read and understand your Q&A, and for those of you who dont know about BB, EVERY BB PHONE connect through our Networks (SMT, 3, 1010 etc) data and in addition to BIS/BES (Blackberry Internet Service/Blackberry Enterprise Service) to access BB Specific applications like Blackberry Messenger etc, usually the network charge more for BIS/BES (find more info on pricing at each network site), however as a smartphone the BB can work without BIS/BES and this article is a case sharing of a BB user without BB Plan.

Target Audience:
this post will be some experience sharing, mainly for those who are looking to buy a BB
the next post will be the enablement methods, mainly for those who have a BB and requires some guidance in the setup phase

Background: Lets begin, I very much enjoy exploring with new smartphones(Diamond>X1>JapPhone>Hero>N1>IP4>Ms2) and I've recently bought a BBB9700 at 先X for 29xx (reasonable price imo), however my contract with SMT (iphone4 plan) cannot allow me to extend or change to a BB supported plan, of course I knew before I bought the BB9700 but I did some research on the internet about the phone usability BB without BB plan, and concluded it was worth it to try out the BB ecosystem. Another reason why I am writing this post is during the time I did research I've found very little localized information (hk forums) about BB tricks and tips or even find the Salesperson lacking information on BB area.
>In short I've enabled most of the BB features with the existing setup (SMTVODA without BB plan) except BBM and BBappworld.

Review:
as a smartphone user I judge the phone not only by brand or recognition but by user experience and user case mainly focusing on:
-phone call quality including reception (tho may vary between network)
very good call quality, the hardware on the BB speaker/mic and antenna is definitely sourced with high quality in mind
-phone battery
above average in comparison to Android devices, but not much greater than IP4
-App quality and selection
now this area will need further break down
-Instant messaging - very good keyboard for WhatsApp, although official msn/gtalk does not work, Jive and other collective IM do have BB app
-email - Push Mail: Funambol, Shangmail  IMAP/POPogicMail  Gmail Push (every 20m) with Gmail
-browsing - Native browser and Opera both provide very weak browsing experience and speed compared to IP4 and Android, (mainly due to small screen and no touch interface)
-Social app - Twitter and weibo works, FB does not and need to access from browser (working on that)
-Calendar - great integration throughout the OS
-Syncrhonizations - Google Sync, Desktop sync with outlook, Funambol Sync, Drop box sync all there
-game - weak and no point
-audio - average mp3 player quality, maybe worst
-video - small screen, weak resolution
-video calling - have not tried

Pros:
Keyboard
One hand operation
communication

Cons:
browsing, video, gaming, lacking app choice
2011-5-27 10:26 PM#1
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
chuday
新會員
Rank: 1



UID 338343
精華 0
積分 5
帖子 5
閱讀權限 10
註冊 2009-2-27
狀態 離線
[Close]
Enablement section, this is the section in which I share on how I overcome some of the limitations with Blackberry with no BB plan

once I put the sim card in the phone (microSIM converter ~8hkd) the following does not to work as expected.
BB Browser - not ok
BB Messenger - not ok
BB push Mail - not ok
BB App World - not ok

quick overview: only Facebook app(WIP on solution), BBM(can never work without BB Plan), BB app world(can never work without BB Plan) does not work


1.problem : the browser does not work~! even when I set the APN

first enter in APN
Options>Device>Advance Options>TCP IP> enter the APN Smartone-Vodafone for SMT, can ask your network to provide you it (tho dont mention your using a BB :p because they will say its not supported since they're newbies and expect everyone to pay extra $$$ for BIS/BES)

Solution 1: - Easy
install Opera or other browser

Solution 2: - HARD
you can do a backup first

download the following rar file
http://www.4shared.com/file/UKGuBx-T/tools_enable_browser_v2.html

s1. connect bb usb to pc (make sure bb drivers are installed from blackberry desktop software but no need to have bds open)
s2. go to bb, options>device>advance options>service books> highlight WAP browser config and then delete the entry
s3. run file enable_browser v2.cmd
s4. press 1 to uninstall
s5. use the BDS to restore the single service book entry on the bb (Browser_via_TCP_all_network_beta_V1.1(2))
s6. run file enable_browser v2.cmd
s7. press 2 to reinstall browser


2. problem : BB Messenger not working~!
Solution 1: - Easy
install Whatsapp or Jive, but otherwise no way around it at all since it requires you the BB PIN vs their BB server.

3. problem : Push Mail
Solution 1: - Medium (push time depends on server performance)
s1. register a account with funambol (50mb space)
s2. add 1 email account(hotmail) to funambol account
s2. install funambol email on bb

Solution 2: - Easy (push every 20m~)
forward all mail to Gmail, and use the Gmail app.

Solution 3: - Hard (push time depends on server performance)
s1. register an account with Shangmail
s2. add multiple email account to Shanmail via website, tho only 1 set as default as sending email.
s3. download this file http://www.4shared.com/file/pCBtLaEa/ServiceBook.html
s4. connect the bb to pc
s5. use the BDS to restore the single service book entry on the bb (Service+Book.ipd)
s6. download the shangmail sync onto bb from their site and login with shangmail account.

4.Problem : how to load apps on the phone! as only the BB Browser and BB App World can install Apps from the phone.

Solution 1: - Easy
connect phone with WIFI, some people may not know but when connecting through wifi, you can cancel the connect via pin in order to not bother with the router settings and connect normally as you would with other wifi devices.


Solution 2: - Easy
use the Blackberry Desktop Software

Solution 3: - Hard
refer to browser problem.
and use the browser to install
2011-5-27 10:26 PM#2
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
十一
中級會員
Rank: 3Rank: 3Rank: 3


UID 119164
精華 0
積分 333
帖子 333
閱讀權限 30
註冊 2005-9-1
狀態 離線
It is a good experience for those people want to buy bb but not want a bb plan
Actually I am using bb bold 9000 and also don't use the bb plan
However I don't have a data plan for it because I use iphone4 and bold 9000 at the same time
Bold 9000 just for SMS purpose
By the way bb is a very useful phone although you don't need to check email frequently
2011-5-30 08:02 PM#3
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
lctong1127
普通會員
Rank: 2Rank: 2



UID 39547
精華 0
積分 77
帖子 77
閱讀權限 20
註冊 2003-7-22
狀態 離線
sorry, is that mean i can go to internet by using opera and can use whatsapp without using BB plan?
2011-6-2 01:20 AM#4
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
十一
中級會員
Rank: 3Rank: 3Rank: 3


UID 119164
精華 0
積分 333
帖子 333
閱讀權限 30
註冊 2005-9-1
狀態 離線


QUOTE:
原帖由 lctong1127 於 2011-6-2 01:20 AM 發表
sorry, is that mean i can go to internet by using opera and can use whatsapp without using BB plan?
yes you can
2011-6-2 01:25 PM#5
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
chuday
新會員
Rank: 1



UID 338343
精華 0
積分 5
帖子 5
閱讀權限 10
註冊 2009-2-27
狀態 離線
but in general the browsing experience is weak and the choice of browsers are limited (Bolt, Opera) not to mention they both are very slow.

compared to android/ios
2011-6-4 04:15 PM#6
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
tikooh
普通會員
Rank: 2Rank: 2


UID 34005
精華 0
積分 81
帖子 81
閱讀權限 20
註冊 2003-1-6
來自 Hong Kong
狀態 離線
I am your target reader, that I am thinking to buy a BB phone,
but don't have  BB plan, after the reading ur post, I think I will get one, tks!
2011-6-6 10:48 PM#7
查看資料  發短消息  ICQ 狀態  頂部
 
lctong1127
普通會員
Rank: 2Rank: 2



UID 39547
精華 0
積分 77
帖子 77
閱讀權限 20
註冊 2003-7-22
狀態 離線
hi  I have bought a bb9700 after reading your passage... I want to ask you that my whstsapp cannot use without Wi-Fi...can I use that without Wi-Fi ? or how to set that? thanks
2011-6-14 01:56 AM#8
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
stsum
新會員
Rank: 1



UID 349060
精華 0
積分 5
帖子 5
閱讀權限 10
註冊 2009-9-4
狀態 離線
hi there! this is incredible and thank you very much!

i was thinking to get a bb torch and hesitated coz i simply dun have a bb plan! but after read through your post, using opera can allow us (ppl without bb plan) to download and use all the apps including whatsapp and gmail apps in bb right? and does it only can be connected via wifi in such case?
2011-6-24 05:34 PM#9
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
OYOY
新會員
Rank: 1



UID 379677
精華 0
積分 2
帖子 2
閱讀權限 10
註冊 2011-7-16
狀態 離線
I got same doubt too,

just worry if i not use BB plan,

can i still use everything as usual through WIFI ?

- youtube streaming
- email (gmail page or yahoo mail)
- Maps
- Internet

so you solve all the problems? am i right?
2011-7-16 03:24 AM#10
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
ricyuyc
普通會員
Rank: 2Rank: 2


UID 344726
精華 0
積分 66
帖子 66
閱讀權限 20
註冊 2009-6-14
來自 香港
狀態 離線
Can Yahoo Mail can still be "push" if not apply BB plan?
how about maps and youtube? must join BB plan to make them function-able?
Thanks for help~
2011-7-16 01:50 PM#11
查看資料  發短消息  ICQ 狀態  頂部
 
cykgodfrey
高級會員
Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4



UID 291759
精華 0
積分 700
帖子 700
閱讀權限 40
註冊 2008-3-30
狀態 離線


QUOTE:
原帖由 lctong1127 於 14-6-2011 01:56 AM 發表
hi  I have bought a bb9700 after reading your passage... I want to ask you that my whstsapp cannot use without Wi-Fi...can I use that without Wi-Fi ? or how to set that? thanks
if u set the APN correctly, it should be ok. btw, a u using the latest version of whatsapp?




BB9810@1010
HTC1XL@PCCW
2011-7-17 10:19 AM#12
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
cykgodfrey
高級會員
Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4



UID 291759
精華 0
積分 700
帖子 700
閱讀權限 40
註冊 2008-3-30
狀態 離線


QUOTE:
原帖由 stsum 於 24-6-2011 05:34 PM 發表
hi there! this is incredible and thank you very much!

i was thinking to get a bb torch and hesitated coz i simply dun have a bb plan! but after read through your post, using opera can allow us  ...
if u set the apn correctly, u will be able to use whatsapp and gmail app




BB9810@1010
HTC1XL@PCCW
2011-7-17 10:22 AM#13
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
400duser
普通會員
Rank: 2Rank: 2



UID 380587
精華 0
積分 31
帖子 31
閱讀權限 20
註冊 2011-8-2
狀態 離線
如果我長期都係用wifi...因為我用pocket wifi
咁你上述既問題我係咪用wifi就可以解決曬
2011-8-9 08:41 PM#14
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
fanfanv3v
新會員
Rank: 1



UID 381299
精華 0
積分 8
帖子 8
閱讀權限 10
註冊 2011-8-17
狀態 離線
咁我唔用bb plan 繼續用3既普通2g plan+$8任sd sms
姐係好似普通手機咁 只不過我係用bb機
bb手機係咪可以用到我個$8任sd嫁?

仲有我想問下bb機用唔用到速成嫁?

[ 本帖最後由 fanfanv3v 於 2011-8-17 05:03 PM 編輯 ]
2011-8-17 05:00 PM#15
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
cykgodfrey
高級會員
Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4



UID 291759
精華 0
積分 700
帖子 700
閱讀權限 40
註冊 2008-3-30
狀態 離線


QUOTE:
原帖由 fanfanv3v 於 17-8-2011 05:00 PM 發表
咁我唔用bb plan 繼續用3既普通2g plan+$8任sd sms
姐係好似普通手機咁 只不過我係用bb機
bb手機係咪可以用到我個$8任sd嫁?

仲有我想問下bb機用唔用到速成嫁?
bb用sms無問題, bb有速成嘅




BB9810@1010
HTC1XL@PCCW
2011-8-18 08:56 AM#16
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
fanfanv3v
新會員
Rank: 1



UID 381299
精華 0
積分 8
帖子 8
閱讀權限 10
註冊 2011-8-17
狀態 離線
姐係我用番普通plan冇問題?
只係我冇得上網?
btw出部9780定等新既9900好?
唔好意思我有d煩lol
2011-8-18 12:03 PM#17
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
cykgodfrey
高級會員
Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4



UID 291759
精華 0
積分 700
帖子 700
閱讀權限 40
註冊 2008-3-30
狀態 離線


QUOTE:
原帖由 fanfanv3v 於 18-8-2011 12:03 PM 發表
姐係我用番普通plan冇問題?
只係我冇得上網?
btw出部9780定等新既9900好?
唔好意思我有d煩lol
9780細部d, 9900有touch screen~




BB9810@1010
HTC1XL@PCCW
2011-8-18 01:50 PM#18
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
天之子~~
普通會員
Rank: 2Rank: 2



UID 141100
精華 0
積分 23
帖子 23
閱讀權限 20
註冊 2005-12-30
狀態 離線


QUOTE:
原帖由 cykgodfrey 於 2011-7-17 10:22 AM 發表

if u set the apn correctly, u will be able to use whatsapp and gmail app
Hi Ching,

I just bought a Curve 9360 without BB plan.
I love it.

And, it properly works for few hours!!
However, I dont know why my whatsapp will be suddenly pop-up a synchronization error msg.
I have to restart my BB to work it again.

Do you know y?

It confuses me...........
2011-12-12 02:25 PM#19
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 
cykgodfrey
高級會員
Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4Rank: 4



UID 291759
精華 0
積分 700
帖子 700
閱讀權限 40
註冊 2008-3-30
狀態 離線


QUOTE:
原帖由 天之子~~ 於 12-12-2011 02:25 PM 發表


Hi Ching,

I just bought a Curve 9360 without BB plan.
I love it.

And, it properly works for few hours!!
However, I dont know why my whatsapp will be suddenly pop-up a synchronization er ...
have u tried to reinstall it?
(i mean uninstall- > reboot -> install)




BB9810@1010
HTC1XL@PCCW
2011-12-13 02:54 PM#20
查看資料  發短消息  頂部
 36  1/2  1  2  > 
     


  可打印版本 | 推薦給朋友 | 訂閱主題 | 收藏主題  


 


Powered by Discuz! 4.1.0  © 2001-2006 Comsenz Inc.
Processed in 0.016314 second(s), 7 queries , Gzip enabled

所有時間為 GMT+8, 現在時間是 2017-8-20 04:45 AM 清除 Cookies - 聯繫我們 - PhoneHK 討論區 - Archiver